Uncategorized

Good Afternoon, Good Evening and Good Night

I quit my day job. 

It may have been the smartest, liberating and, the scariest, dumbest thing I have ever done, but I am proud of myself. It was really starting to take it’s toll on my health, and I couldn’t take it anymore. I put in my notice after I returned from my trip to New York City. 

I was too afraid to quit because I didn’t know if I could survive, but I had a last pay check and managed to get enough money together through Etsy sales to pay most of my bills this first month on my own. It’s hard to adjust to working for yourself and figuring out money and bills without a pay schedule, but it will all fall into place soon. It also may not have been the brightest to quit after taking a month off from the Etsy shops too, but it is what it is. 

Everyone asks what I’m doing to make money: I’m selling prints, focusing on hosting craft and photography workshops, making camera straps and items for my Film Photography Revolution Etsy store and restocking and gearing up for new products in my Gothcupcake Etsy store.

I’ve started doing some freelance writing for Lomography, Geek News Network and soon The Food Punks foodie blog. It pushes me to be creative, gives me structure, deadlines and keeps me sharp. Plus, I enjoy writing!

I’m organizing and curating a film photography show next month in downtown Phoenix, at Treehouse Bakery, featuring photography prints from myself and members of the Arizona Film Photography Club. I will have more time to dedicate to my photography and the photo club.

I’m also learning to play the harmonica, the guitar and finally going to sit down and spend a day figuring out how to use my serger! Goth darnit!

I’m keeping busy to say the least. Figuring it all out as I go. I think the key is to believe in myself more, have the confidence that I can do it and work hard. Wish me luck! (A little luck never hurt, right?)

-Mary

Standard

Leave a Reply

