Uncategorized

The Big Apple: Part 1

10492257_908525485831435_7409539786422294538_n

Well, first things first, I am back from my trip to New York City and my first solo photography exhibition at the Lomography Gallery Store. It was an incredible trip, many parts I felt like I was in a movie, cheesy cliches and all, and I was so happy to have my friend Katie there to share the experience with me. I couldn’t have done it without her! 

The morning I was leaving for New York I was so anxious I was physically ill, so much so that Katie was concerned! I slept off some of my nerves in the car ride to the train station, some fresh air, water and food helped. I perked up a little by the time we got to the train station and were on our way. While on the train we passed a run down house with a handmade banner affixed to it’s cluttered deck. The banner read, in black spray paint: “YOU ALREADY SUCCEEDED” 

In that moment I felt all of my anxiety fade away, I was on my way to New York City, to show my art in my very own show, I had made it. Frank Sinatra kicked in “If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere” and suddenly I was enjoying myself. New York, New York. 

nyc_ri_print_sale

I am still getting my film that I shot in New York back from the lab and Scott is helping me develop the black and white film at home, so it is coming back to me in batches. The image above is a print sale I’m hosting with some of the images I’ve already developed from my trip, if you would like to be one of the first to get your hands on my New York photos before I have an exhibition of them feel free to drop me an email or comment with your print choices and PayPal email address for an invoice. Photo A is from Rhode Island and photos B and C are from New York. 

Photo A was taken at Oakland Beach, in Warwick, Rhode Island during a Classic Car Tuesday event with a live DJ playing oldies favorites. I shot that image through the back of a VW bus that I fell in love with. I just love their fat fronts and rounded edges and big headlights. 

0ski222-R1-067-32

Photo B is going to sound a little silly, but you don’t see many water towers in Phoenix, AZ. There were lots of water towers back home in Rhode Island and seeing them in New York amidst Gotham City-esque skylines made me feel warm and fuzzy inside. You can find water towers further north in Arizona, but still not as many as you’d find near the sea. 

Photo C is the building I fell in love with while we were in New York, it was across the street from our hotel and it was my muse for most of the trip, to the point that Katie yelled at me for taking so many pictures of it “You’re going to get back home and only have pictures of that building!” On our final day there I asked the concierge at our hotel what that building was “You thinking of living there?,” he asked “You better start saving up. It’s the Ansonia building.”

0ski222-R2-E043

Wikipedia gives some great history on the building, such as how it used to have a farm on the roof when it was a hotel and was referred to as “The farm in the sky.” I did take more than just photos of the Ansonia while in New York though, and I’ll be sure to go into more exciting details from the trip in future posts as I get my film scanned and ready to share with you! 

For now, keep following your dreams and trust in yourself and the universe. I’ll do the same.

Much Love, 

Mary

Standard

Leave a Reply

