Uncategorized

Convention Reflections

It always amazes me that no matter how much planning and prepping and psyching myself up for a con that I do, I always end up having a million things to get done at the last minute (and fighting for time to get them done between the day job to boot!) the days before the con. This most recent convention was no different. I got maybe 4 hours of sleep the night before the first day of the con, and the same the night before the second day of the con. Yesterday, I got in the door from the convention and went straight to bed for ten hours before waking up to do it all over again for the final day of the con.

One thing that amazes me is how much I am able to get done under the time constraints, but also how creative I can be with working with what I have on hand to accomplish all of my ideas and goals. I have gotten more into an organizing rhythm with this last con and it has been the smoothest out of my past convention experiences. I have a drive that I always wish I could match year round with my shop and projects. If I could work that hard all the time on things consistently I wouldn’t have to worry about a day job any longer. Of course, ideally, I would be working hard, but also balancing that out with enough sleep.

One of the artists at the booth behind us was from San Francisco, she does conventions full time. She travels the country working conventions and vacationing for a week in that locale after the convention. This sounded like the perfect life to me! Doing my art and traveling…which has been something I’ve already mentioned a few times as being a common theme in the direction I would like to take my dreams and business.

I did find a way to link photography/lomography into my booth this year by setting up a “Mustache Photo Booth” where for a small fee, attendees and/or their friends would pose for photos wearing mustaches and received an instant photo to take home as their silly souvenir from the convention. The sales of the photo booth photos helped pay for the film and I was surprised at how well they sold, or even if I didn’t sell, the sign was silly enough to attract people to my booth to see what a girl who offers mustache photos is all about.

Remembering that it is possible to find a balance between my talents and my needs/wants/dreams has been helping me stay focused–and determined–on reaching my goals.

I also made prints of one of my original paintings to sell at the convention. I waited until the last day to sell them and I didn’t really advertise them that well, but it is a step in the right direction for me and my art. I would like to have more artwork/prints available for sale when I do conventions to have a nice mix of items for the market. Having items that are not gender specific and fit onto that neutral ground is good as well. This was the first year that I had so many males stopping by my booth and (more importantly) purchasing from my booth. It was due to having those great in between items that are both versatile and useful as well as genre-specific (read: geeky).

Still learning as I go, but after falling into a little bit of a rut I thought I’d hop back on here and give an update on the kicking the day job manifesto!

Next, to work more on my image…

Stay Spooky,

Gothcupcake

Standard

Leave a Reply

