I Want To Quit My Day Job

Probably not the smartest thing to post on the internet where a coworker could possibly see it and bring it to work, but I’m feeling bold. I want to quit my day job. Every Sunday (or in this case of the holiday, Monday) before the start of the work week I devise a plan to find a way to make money, better my business, or find a better job so that I can quit my day job. Every. Week. I don’t like the stressed out cranky bitch I become as the weekend dwindles away and I’m faced with the bare facts that I will be waking up at 4 a.m. for the rest of the week to sit in a cubicle for 8 hours and do it all again until the next weekend. ENOUGH. I’m done, I quit… 

What is holding me back? Why, as so eloquently put by the author of the Life Without Pants blog, fear is holding me back. Fear that I will not be able to pay my bills whilst pursuing my dream of being my own boss and making a living off of my art, my creativity, my skills and my own two hands. Fear. Money. My two biggest hurdles at the moment. 

I’m a little embarrassed to say it but I’ve been doing a lot of research, reading a lot of self-help sites and blogs and doing a lot of things in order to build up my confidence and get my goals and dreams and plans in order, my business in order for that big ballsy day when I put in my 2 weeks. I honestly don’t even think it’s the job itself–I don’t desire to go work anywhere else–I don’t like being on someone else’s time and terms. I don’t like putting all of my time and energy into someone else’s business. It was why I wanted to leave my last job (amongst other things), but namely because I didn’t want to excel at something my heart wasn’t in. I also really can’t stand living for the weekend. You miss out on SO MUCH life living for the weekend, wishing the days to go by. That is not a way to live, I don’t want to wish my life away for 8 days out of the month. 

I also want to spend Christmas with my family this year. This year would mark the fifth Christmas without my family. I get more depressed about it every year. Sobbing and inconsolably depressed. Money is a big part of that, it costs a nice round chunk of change to fly across the country round trip during the most traveled time of year to visit my family, but the other big part of that is asking permission. I have to ask permission from my employment whether or not I am allowed to see my family. They always say no. Fuck that. If I want to go home and visit my family, I will. My parents are getting older and I am getting older and every year I fear that something will happen and I’ll have missed spending time with my family for a job I couldn’t care about at all if not for the paycheck it provides. 

I take what I can from my job, I am grateful to have a job, however I am not being enriched, or fulfilled. I am not helping others, I am not growing as a person by being at my job. 

I want to be able to visit my family for holidays, birthdays. I know it’s not possible to fly round trip across country on a whim all the time, but to be able to go see my family when *I* want to, not when someone else allows me to, would be fantastic. 

I want to work with my heroes. I want to work with those that inspire me, to learn from them, to explore, create and imagine and reach the heights of my abilities while creating with those who inspire me. Phoenix Comic Con was incredibly inspiring this weekend because I spent it in a room FULL of creative artists, writers, crafters–who all are following their dreams, their passions or who have built them into the amazing empires we see today. People who started from the ground up or who are working hard right now building those dreams. I want that to be me. I want my empire, I want my name in the stars, I want to achieve and bring others on the journey with me. 

Now just to get the balls to do it.

Wish Me Luck!

Gothcupcake

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    May 29, 2012 @ 00:12:16

    This post pretty much says exactly how I am feeling about my job and life right now too. I also turn 30 this year so it feels like I have even more of a pressure on me to DO SOMETHING ALREADY.

    Same with me, it’s any job. They’re all the same to me. Nothing I want to do. Except with my job, I don’t get weekends off. I just get random days and a mixed up schedule that’s all over the map. Sometimes as few as 24 hours a week. So not only do I hate my job, it doesn’t always pay the bills. Forget about anything extra.

    My family also isn’t AS far away, but even driving two hours when you know you don’t have the money to make it until the next pay day is not really an option.

    I am always always trying to think of what I can do. Sometimes I want to give up. It’s a roller coaster in my own head.

    Reply

  2. Matt Cheuvront
    May 29, 2012 @ 00:19:27

    You got this! Seriously. Your mind is made up – now all that’s left is to take the leap. I PROMISE you won’t regret trying – the ONLY regret is knowing that you want more for yourself, and never taking action to take the steps toward building that better life. I wish you all the best – and of course, I’m always available to bounce ideas/chat as you take this bold leap. Here’s to big things ahead!

    PS, thanks for reading LWP. Hope you’ll continue to come by from time to time. Cheers!

    Reply

  3. Bianca Lightnin
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 06:21:51

    I’m super duper excited for you! I think your attitude will take you anywhere that you desire and/or need. You can do it!!!! :) Quitting my day job was the best thing I ever did! I may not make a TON of money, but it’s enough to be comfortable, have fun, and enjoy life :)
    I believe in you!!! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Food Punks

We put it in our mouth, so you don't have to!

Angelart Star

The beautiful picture of angels makes you happy.

panorama surfguiding taghazout

accommodation, apartments, surf lessons, guided tours and much more for your surf trip to morocco

We Serve No Master

Cliff and Ivy

-Huevos Fritos-

Solo tengo pájaros por la cabeza...así que no sé de que va esto

Vida Vegan Headquarters

Home of Vida Vegan Con, the vegan media & lifestyle conference

cute suite

Barcelona inspiration: interiors, architecture, handmade, street art, and more...

Barcelona Street Scraps

I catch 'em before they're painted over or scraped away...

Photobooth Journal

A life in a photobooth.

lomolovers

for all your analogue inspiration

The Girl in the Little Black Dress

Natalie. 16. Fashion Blogger.

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Phil Kneen Photography

I shoot people...

Exploratorius

Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

The Culture Monk

Coffee & Conversation - The Periphrastic Mind of Kenneth Justice

Just Visit Siena !

My Siena Guide

The Memorial Electric

Creative endeavors and cultural experiences

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,575 other followers

